Scholarships Currently Offered for ASRT Members

These ASRT Foundation scholarships are provided thanks to individuals and corporations who understand the importance of highly skilled radiologic technologists and the power of education to create a brighter future.

Elekta Radiation Therapy Scholarship

Elekta is a human care company pioneering significant innovations and clinical solutions for treating cancer and brain disorders. The Elekta Radiation Therapy Scholarship was established to help the best and brightest students afford their radiation therapy programs. Elekta cares deeply about the oncology profession and is a passionate supporter of radiation therapists. Four scholarships of $5,000 each are awarded annually.

The James and Stephanie Johnston Journey Scholarship

This scholarship invites fellow radiologic technologists to celebrate a profession that brought this couple together and continues to inspire their journey. In endowing a scholarship, James and Stephanie ask only that those who receive one pay it forward in terms of giving back to the radiologic sciences. Recipients of this scholarship will be individuals with a medical imaging background who are pursuing a master's degree or doctorate to further their career as an educator or manager.

Jerman-Cahoon Student Scholarship

The American Society of Radiologic Technologists established the Jerman-Cahoon Student Scholarship in honor of Edward C. Jerman, founder of the Society, and John B. Cahoon Jr., former ASRT president and one of the most highly respected educators the profession ever produced. Six scholarships of $2,500 each are awarded annually to entry-level students in radiography, sonography, magnetic resonance or nuclear medicine.

Joy and Jordan Renner Educator Scholarship

Joy and Jordan Renner created this scholarship to help highly involved educators pursue a bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degree. This scholarship will be awarded to educators who have volunteered at the affiliate or national levels of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists.

The Marie L. A. Racine Scholarship

A surprise scholarship early in her career led Marie Racine, M.S.R.S., R.T.(R)(T), into the army as a radiographer and through more than 40 years as a radiation therapy instructor and program director. In 2013, Marie continued the circle of giving when she asked the ASRT Foundation to endow the Marie L. A. Racine Scholarship Fund and assist current radiation therapists earning a bachelor's degree or higher.

Parsons Degree Achievement Scholarship

The Parsons Degree Achievement scholarship was created to help established radiologic technologists earn their first college degree (associate or bachelor's) and was named in memory of Cathy Parsons, former ASRT Foundation Chairman. Up to 10 scholarships of $2,000 each will be awarded for each academic year. Funding for this scholarship is provided through a generous grant by the ASRT Board of Directors, as well as contributions from individual donors each year.

The Philip W. Ballinger Endowed Scholarship

Although Phil Ballinger, Ph.D., R.T.(R), FASRT, retired from teaching a few years ago, he continues to make a difference through this endowed scholarship fund. Dr. Phil, as a long-time radiologic technologist, educator and author in the radiologic sciences, started the scholarship in 2014 to help other R.T. educators return to school to attain a master's degree or doctorate. Three scholarships of $1,000 each will be awarded each year.

Professional Advancement Scholarship

The Professional Advancement Scholarship was created to ensure radiologic technologists have the financial support they need to complete additional certifications or college degrees. Multiple scholarships of $2,000 each are awarded annually. Funding for this scholarship is provided through contributions from individuals, as well as a generous donation from HEALTHeCAREERS — a leading source of medical and health care job opportunities in the U.S.

Radiation Therapy Pioneers Scholarship

Looking at trailblazers throughout radiation therapy history, Elaine Chin, B.S., R.T.(T), CMD, and Steven Hardy, M.S., R.T.(R)(T)(CT), CMD, put a passion for their profession and these pioneers into a scholarship that acknowledges radiographers transitioning into radiation therapy. As radiation therapists, teachers and members of the ASRT Foundation Scholarship Committee, Elaine and Steven are funding an endowment that will provide a yearly $250 award to help defer educational costs.

The Richard S. Kay Endowed Scholarship

As a radiographer and an entrepreneur in the radiologic sciences, Richard Kay, Ph.D., R.T.(R)(M), FASRT, CRadP, MSRP, approached the ASRT Foundation in 2013 to establish a scholarship that reflects his passion for the profession. The award is intended to ensure that entry-level students have the financial support necessary to stay in school, finish and serve. Toward that goal, at least one scholarship will be awarded each year.

Royce Osborn Minority Student Scholarship

The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists is the world’s largest credentialing organization that seeks to ensure high-quality patient care in radiologic technology. The ARRT created the Royce Osborn Minority Student Scholarship to assist minority students in an entry-level radiography, sonography, magnetic resonance, radiation therapy or nuclear medicine program. This scholarship was created in honor of Royce Osborn and is funded through an endowment from the ARRT, as well as through contributions from individual donors. Five scholarships of $4,000 each are awarded annually.

Siemens Clinical Advancement Scholarship

Siemens Healthcare is a trendsetter in medical imaging, laboratory diagnostics and medical information technology. By optimizing clinical workflows, Siemens makes healthcare faster, better and more cost-effective. The Siemens Clinical Advancement Scholarship assists medical imaging professionals seeking to enhance their clinical practice skills and provide excellent patient care. Four scholarships of $5,000 each are awarded annually to professionals pursuing a specialty certificate, or bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree.

Varian Radiation Therapy Advancement Scholarship

Varian Medical Systems creates technology for treating cancer with radiotherapy, radiosurgery, proton therapy and brachytherapy. The Varian Radiation Therapy Advancement Scholarship was created to ensure radiation therapists and medical dosimetrists can afford education that enhances their clinical practice skills and helps them provide excellent patient care. Varian funds these awards because it believes in the power of education to make a difference for radiation therapists, as well as their patients. Up to 19 scholarships of $5,000 each are awarded annually.

The Weber State University Department of Radiologic Sciences Student Global Engagement Scholarship

Weber State University Department of Radiologic Sciences created this scholarship opportunity with the certainty that global competencies and engagement help students become better citizens of the world. The ability to interact with people of different cultures in any health care setting is an invaluable skill in providing patient-centered care. This award will expand the recipient’s knowledge and understanding of world cultures and global issues. This scholarship will be awarded to students participating in study abroad programs as part of their educational curriculum.