Recipients Named for Education and Professional Growth Grants

Nov. 28, 2017

Fifty-one ASRT members have been named to receive funds to support continuing education and professional development in the Advancing Your Profession: Education and Professional Growth Grants program.

The grant program is funded by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists to support the professional and educational advancement of radiologic technologists, radiation therapists and sonographers. Funds are intended to reimburse recipients for the cost of CE, educational conferences or products, or ARRT primary or secondary certification exams.

Grant recipients submitted short essays answering the question: “How does acquiring and maintaining certification improve patient care?” One recipient, Jennifer Franco, B.S., R.T.(R)(MR), of Durham, North Carolina answered, in part, “For me, personally, and I think for many other people, being ARRT-certified gives me a strong sense of pride in my profession. The many hours, weeks and months spent learning a new radiologic modality and studying for a certification exam culminate in not only a certificate to hang on the office wall, or a credential to add after one’s name, but also a new identity: ‘I am a radiologic technologist.’”

The Foundation selected one recipient per active ASRT state affiliate or local affiliate for 2017. They are: Jeffrey Adkins, Ame Allen, Sharee Alpeche, Vicki Bennett, Christopher Blissenbach, Jennifer Bond, Joseph Carter, Thuan Chau, Amber Clayton, Catherine Cooper, Julie Rhiannon Davie, Colleen Dempsey, Christopher Downing, Cheryl DuBose, Andrea Duda, Wendy Elvendahl, Demarcus J. Ferguson, Gina Lucia Foote, Jennifer Franco, Carlos Galindo, Kathleen Glassow, Eric S. Godinez, Elizabeth A. Gresey, Tina R. Hayes, Diana Iglewski, Tracy Iversen, Treavor Kattick, Sara Long, Andee Lortie, Ian Lysinger, Stephanie L. McKim, Kathleen Morency, Donna Murphy, Renee Nicholson, Julie Ostrowski, Jane A. Patton, Jane Schraut, Kristin Seitz, Hannah Shipler, Callie Sinanan, Kimberly Sison, Daniel Spines, Mirabel Azangeh Tandafor, Mackenzie Tanner, Marcia Thornton, Andrea Tschirner, Rebecca Van Ornum, Susan Wertz, Vicki M. White, Peter Yee and Erin Zubia.