Education and Professional Growth Grants Recipients Announced

Oct. 23, 2019

Fifty ASRT members have been named to receive funds to support continuing education and professional development in the Advancing Your Profession: Education and Professional Growth Grants program.

The grant program is funded by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists to support the professional and educational advancement of medical imaging technologists and radiation therapists. Funds are intended to reimburse recipients for the cost of CE, educational conferences or products, or ARRT primary or secondary certification exams and affiliate society membership expense.

Grant recipients submitted short essays answering the question: “How does acquiring and maintaining certification improve patient care?”

One recipient, Kimberly Alt, R.T.(R), of Grass Valley, California, answered, in part, “Acquiring and maintaining my own certifications means I am doing the best I can for my patients who rely on me for quality diagnostic images. Having these certifications behind me means I am proving my worth and expertise to someone in need.”

Cynthia Upham, B.S., R.T.(R)(T), of West Linn, Oregon, described it this way, “I view CE not as a burden, but as a great opportunity to educate myself. With the skills and best practices that I learn from articles, seminars and others in the field, I can provide better care to my patients.”

The Foundation selected one recipient per active ASRT state affiliate or local affiliate for the 2019-2020 program. They are:

Sarina Aamold Nicholas Gimmi Ashley Perkins
Kimberly Alt Jeanette Govern Courtney Phillips
Stephanie Bailey Bethany Griffin Jacqueline Pike
Tracy L Bailey Sara Groskreutz Melanie Prakuson-Bierman
Abigail Berg Elaine Halesey Sara Preston
Jolynn Blackburn Jeanice Harrison Shanna Quade
Chanelle Brewer Jessica Hilburn Alissa Reese
Caitlin Byram Mary Hodson Donna Reilly
Tyler Carter Caitlin Johnson Kayci Robinson
Nicole Casasanto Molly Kiscadon Justin Shelton
Annalisa Cortes Shelly Kuhn Samantha Skubish
Patty Crowell Sierra N Lammers Melissa Staggs-Laughrey
Shannon Deines Marissa Mangrum Laura M Stottlemyer
April Dodge Stacy Mendes Kyrstie Tracy
Amanda Eldert Meek Myoung Cynthia Upham
Rhonda Engebretson Kristine Noland Julia Wolfe
Chelsea Gagnon Danielle Peirolo